NEWBURGH, NY – The Newburgh Historical Society will open the historic Captain David Crawford House during the June 20th city-wide event, Newburgh Illuminated. Between 1:00 p.m. and 4:00 p.m. members of the public are welcome to join guided tours through the 1830 house, view a unique collection and the recently opened exhibit, “Growing Up In Newburgh.”
The third annual Newburgh Illuminated festival is celebrating the 150th anniversary of Newburgh’s incorporation as a city in 1865. Many organizations throughout the city will come together to celebrate all that is Newburgh through history, food, music and the arts.
The Crawford House, a history headquarters, offers a collection that represents a history from before Henry Hudson’s historic voyage along the river that would share his name through the 20th century.
Newburgh was incorporated as a village in 1800 and as a city in 1865. With its situation on the Hudson River, midway between New York City and Albany and its naturally deep port, Newburgh became a prosperous shipping, transportation and industrial hub.
Captain David Crawford, a civic leader and maritime entrepreneur, played a key role in the transition of Newburgh from a small riverside community to a thriving shipping and industrial city. His neo-classical home reflected his wealth and stature within the community.
Explore the new exhibit, “Growing Up In Newburgh.” This community exhibit features a variety of photographs showing families at Downing Park, during parades, socializing downtown and many others.
Admission to the historic Crawford House and exhibit is free during the festival. For more information please call (845) 561-2585.
The Historical Society of Newburgh Bay and the Highlands was launched unofficially when the Hasbrouck House (Washington’s Headquarters Newburgh) was in danger of demolition after the Revolutionary War. The current Society, incorporated in 1884, has always been an advocate for Newburgh’s history. The Society’s headquarters, 1830 Captain David Crawford House, was purchased in 1954 to save it from demolition and symbolizes their dedication to preserving and protecting Newburgh’s assets.
The Crawford House, a historic house museum and Society’s headquarters, located at 189 Montgomery Street within the City of Newburgh’s Historic District is open for tours on Sundays between 1:00 P.M. and 4:00 P.M. or by appointment. View the “Growing Up In Newburgh” exhibit, a community exhibit featuring the photographs and memories of Newburgh from the 19th century through the 20th century. For more information about admission, tours, or programming please call (845) 561-2585.
↓ Download Image
Caption: A Majorette, the young woman leading the Newburgh Free Academy band along Broadway, during the Memorial Day parade of 1962.
↓ Download Image
Caption: Visitors browsing through the new exhibit, “Growing Up In Newburgh.”