Crawford House

The Captain David Crawford House, listed on the National Register of Historic Places, was built in 1830 for Captain David Crawford, his wife Fanny Belknap Crawford and their two young daughters Mary Elizabeth and Anna Crawford.

ch1Captain David Crawford, a civic leader and maritime entrepreneur, played a key role in the transition of Newburgh from a small riverside community to a thriving shipping and industrial city. His neo-classical home, situated atop 500 acres of property overlooking the Hudson River, aptly reflected his wealth and stature in the community.

This majestic house, architecturally unique in the Hudson Valley, is remarkably intact, having been little changed over the years. There is a wealth of original interior and exterior architectural detail.

Photo courtesy of Jillian Elder.

Photo courtesy of Jillian Elder.

The proud home features 40 foot iconic columns and front and rear Palladian windows. Exquisite woodcarving on the front door is repeated throughout the house, surrounding the entablature, the doorways and the ornate black marble fireplaces. The famous dolphin newel post, carved in solid mahogany, is a whimsical feature on the sweeping center hall staircase.

The House is interpreted to reflect, not only the life of a wealthy 19th century family, but the rich history and traditions of Newburgh and larger Hudson Valley. We boast an impressive collection of Hudson River School painting; 18th century New York furniture, to include a Duncan Phyfe settee; locally made silver and textiles; and a wonderful collection of model ships from the hey-day of pleasure travel and shipping on the Hudson River.