It was questionable whether those who made reservations to join Sunday’s walking tour would stay home due to the heat or choose to be some place cooler. By the date of the event, July 12th, we accumulated exactly 100 reservations. Yes we were impressed, but there were concerns about the weather. Earlier in the week, rain was in the forecast, but soon after, the clouds cleared and high temperatures took their place. Continue reading
By Matthew Colon
On July 12th, the Newburgh Historical Society and St. George’s Episcopal Church are leading a walking tour of St. George’s Cemetery. It is a collaborative effort that involved many people to plan what will be a wonderful event. Four tour guides will lead members of the public for a half mile walk through one of Newburgh’s remarkable cemeteries. Along the way, the history of Newburgh will be told through the stories of select citizens from the American Revolution through the present. Continue reading
NEWBURGH, NY – Within the City of Newburgh’s historic district and around the corner from Washington’s Headquarters is the remarkable St. George’s Cemetery. Established in 1838, this burial ground that overlooks the Hudson River is filled with stories once lived by those interred, from the American Revolution through the present.
NEWBURGH, NY – The Newburgh Historical Society will open the historic Captain David Crawford House during the June 20th city-wide event, Newburgh Illuminated. Between 1:00 p.m. and 4:00 p.m. members of the public are welcome to join guided tours through the 1830 house, view a unique collection and the recently opened exhibit, “Growing Up In Newburgh.” Continue reading