The Historical Society of Newburgh Bay and the Highlands, headquartered in the 1830 Captain David Crawford House, is a private not-for-profit organization chartered by the State of New York. Incorporated in 1884, the Society was originally dedicated to the collection and presentation of records and data pertaining to the Hudson River Valley, focusing especially on its Revolutionary War history. The society began in one room in the Newburgh Free Library, moved to two rooms at 48 Second Street, occupied the Glebe House on Clinton Street, and finally found its permanent home in 1954 in the Captain David Crawford House.
As our space has grown, so too has the collection and mission of the Historical Society. In addition to our extensive archives, the Society now boasts an impressive collection of 19th century furnishings, decorative arts, paintings and portraits. We are dedicated to preserving, promoting and protecting the unique history, architecture and culture of Newburgh. That story is told through our collections, programs and events.
The History Society serves as a unique community resource by providing:
- Regularly scheduled house tours of its headquarters
- Educational and cultural events, tours and programs
- Extensive archives available for academic and public research
- A collection of artifacts & furnishings of local historical importance
- Revolving exhibitions
- A permanent collection of Hudson River model ships
The Society is a membership organization, which relies solely on the generosity of its members to continue its mission and stewardship of the Captain David Crawford House.
2017 Board of Managers
Jim Hoekema, President
J. Warren Cahill, Vice-President
Mary McTamaney, Treasurer
Gayle Clark Fedigan
Glenn T. Marshall
Roy R. Spells
Board Members Emeritus
Historical Society of Newburgh Bay and the Highlands
189 Montgomery Street
Newburgh, NY 12550
Main Phone Number: (845) 561-2585
Phone Number: (845) 561-3790